Hannah Georgas ~ All That Emotion (Acoustic)

All That Emotion (Acoustic)

Released on September 17, 2021

Purchase Album

Buy on iTunes Buy on Amazon Buy on Spotify Buy on Bandcamp


  1. Change
  2. Someone I Don't Know
  3. Punching Bag
  4. Habits
  5. Easy
  6. That Emotion


On the one year anniversary of Hannah Georgas' All That Emotion LP, she will release All That Emotion (Acoustic) — a mini album of acoustic versions of songs from that album.

In September 2020, Hannah Georgas released her Aaron Dessner-produced LP All That Emotion. Though long a favorite in her native Canada, the album added to her international audience and became the most critically-acclaimed release of her career, earning a wave of positive attention from outlets like The Guardian, Pitchfork, NPR, The New York Times, FADER, Stereogum, New York Magazine, Consequence of Sound and Paste among many others.

In the spring of 2021 she released All That Emotion Versions — an EP of alternate versions of tracks from the album, featuring contributions from friends and collaborators like Bartees Strange, Owen Pallett, The National's Matt Berninger and Kate Stables (leader of acclaimed UK group This Is The Kit). All That Emotion (Acoustic) takes a different approach, as exemplified by this new version of her song "Change."

Georgas' piano and vocals were recorded with Graham Walsh at Palace Sound in Toronto, but these new iterations are not solo performances, as she was accompanied remotely by guitarist Christine Bougie and cellist Ben Whiteley, both of whom played on the recent LP from Georgas' fellow Torontonian The Weather Station, with additional strings from Drew Jureka (Dua Lipa, Bahamas). Though not entirely "stripped down," Georgas sees the mini album as representative of the new life the songs from the LP have taken on as she has performed them in various contexts since recording them with Dessner in 2019.

"Since releasing All That Emotion last year I've worked on music with friends in ways I never expected to," Georgas explains. "Local restrictions pushed me to reach out to my peers and collaborate from the comfort of my home studio, an experience I found surprisingly enjoyable. That distance and isolation inspired me to work on these recordings. It feels nice to capture how I've been performing the songs over the past year when I wasn't able to get together with my band. These versions document a very specific feeling and time, and it's special to be able to share them."