Hannah Georgas ~ All That Emotion

All That Emotion

Released on September 4, 2020
CD, LP, Digital

Purchase Album

Buy on iTunes Buy on Amazon Buy on Spotify Buy on Bandcamp

Featured Collaborators

Aaron Dessner

Aaron Dessner

Aaron Dessner





  1. That Emotion
  2. Easy
  3. Dreams
  4. Pray It Away
  5. Someone I Don't Know
  6. Punching Bag
  7. Same Mistakes
  8. Just A Phase
  9. Habits
  10. Change
  11. Cruel


“…immediately arresting.” – NPR’s Robin Hilton

“Drop-dead delivery and wiseass lyrics hiding surging depths of emotion.” - MOJO

"deeply personal song about reckoning with the past" — Aesthetic Magazine

Earlier this year Toronto's Hannah Georgas shared a pair of singles "That Emotion" and "Same Mistakes" — the first released in early March just before the scale of our pandemic crises had become clear, the second a month ago at the height of quarantine.

Now comes the announcement of the Sept 4th release of a 11 song album ALL THAT EMOTION, a collaboration with producer Aaron Dessner of The National. The album was finalized well-before this unprecedented year of upheaval, and features deeply personal songs about reckoning with the past. Yet the record's warm, enveloping sound and lyrical themes of change and resilience fittingly calm and comfort human hearts frayed by these trying times.

"I have been thinking about what this album represents to me and it is resilience," says Hannah. "It's about finding hope and a way out the other side of tough situations. The hardships we go through make us grow into stronger people. The album is about healing, self reflection and getting up again at the end of the day."

Of newly released single "Dreams" she writes: "In my past, I have let my insecurities play into relationships and have pushed people away because I have felt like I'm not deserving of love. This song explores the idea of breaking down those barriers of insecurity and being more open."

Hannah's music is no secret in her native Canada. Previous releases have racked up multiple nominations for the Polaris Music Prize and JUNOs; the title track for her forthcoming album has been #1 on CBC Music radio charts for two weeks running, sitting above artists like The Strokes, HAIM, Phoebe Bridgers & Harry Styles.

Despite cancelling dozens of tour dates in the wake of the pandemic, Hannah is poised to make her greatest impact to date internationally. Initial singles have earned high praise from outlets like The FADER, Stereogum, The Line of Best Fit, American Songwriter, BrooklynVegan, Exclaim and Consequence of Sound, who dubbed Georgas "a new generation's Feist." And this music has received airings on key US radio outlets like XPN's nationally syndicated World Cafe Live, Sirius XM's The Verge, and Dallas station KXT.

Aaron Dessner: producer & various instruments
Jon Low: engineer, mix & master

Jason Treuting (So Percussion) & James McAlister (Sufjan Stevens, The National): drums
Thomas Bartlett (St. Vincent, The National, Florence and the Machine): keys
Dave Nelson: brass
Arone Dyer (Buke and Gase): vocals
Sean Sroka (Ten Kills The Pack): back up vocals

"The album cover is an old family photo that offers this calm confidence. It looks like people are watching a performance while he dives in without a second thought. Similarly, I find that it parallels the approach needed within art. The calm confidence of expressing yourself without the thought of consequence, regardless of anyone watching." — Hannah Georgas

"A bold voice, her unremitting honesty makes Hannah Georgas a challenging but utterly absorbing figure." - Clash

"Canadian avant-pop" — The FADER

“...an artist who’s supremely confident in her craft.” - Consequence of Sound